Baztab News

World Cup 2019: Fans make miniature trophies from pencil lead as the showpiece event approaches

19 May 2019 CricTracker

Cricket World Cup trophy. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The cricket World Cup is just 12 days away and the euphoria is ever growing. The quadrennial event is not only an occasion for the players of the respective countries to showcase their skills and become immortal in the history of the game but also for the fans and supporters. They also contribute in ways to become a part of the craze and one thing that brings them closer to the tournament is the World Cup trophy itself.

The current World Cup trophy is a permanent one which is being used since the 1999 edition held in England. It has been used for the last five editions and the winners of the upcoming edition will also hold it high at Lord’s on July 14. The current trophy is 60 cm high and is made from gold and silver. It features a golden globe held up by three columns that signify the three aspects of the game: batting, bowling and fielding.

Fans make miniature World Cups

Recently, fans from various countries expressed their craze for the World Cup by creating their own miniature forms of the World Cup. One such miniature form was made from the pencil’s lead. The polished hands that made it carved out two trophies – one measuring five millimetres and another six millimetres – showed nothing is really impossible if one has the heart to do it. It was said that creating such miniatures of the World Cup from pencil lead required 30-35 minutes.

Fans from Afghanistan are particularly ecstatic about the World Cup as their team will be participating for the second time in a row. Afghanistan made their debut in 2015 but the presence of exciting talents like Rashid Khan makes the fans all the more hopeful about a good show by the young side.

The cricket World Cup this time will feature 10 teams that will play against each other in a round-robin format with the top four point-getters reaching the semi-finals. Australia, who have won the trophy five times, are the defending champions while India and the Windies have won it twice. Pakistan and Sri Lanka have won the cup once each.

Original Link:

Open Original News

More from CricTracker

Latest News: