Baztab News

Ex-Election Commissioners Each Get 2 Years, 6 Months in Prison

15 Jan 2020 Tolo News

The Anti-Corruption Criminal Justice Center (ACJC) appeals court on Wednesday sentenced the former commissioners and heads of the Independent Election Commission (IEC) and Independent Electoral Complaints Commission (IECC) to two years and six months in prison.

The former head of IECC, Abdul Aziz Aryaee, and two former members of the commission, Humaira Haqmal and Abdul Basir Fayiz, were accused of reducing or adding to parliamentary candidates' votes in Kunar province, and misuse of authority.

Meanwhile, seven former members of the IEC, including Abdul Badi Sayyad, Wasima Badghisi, Maazullah Dawlati, Rafiullah Bedar, Abdul Qadir Quraishi, Sayed Hafizullah and Maliha Hassan were also accused of adding or reducing parliamentary candidates votes.

In September 2019 the same court sentenced seven former members of the Election Commission, and three former members of the Electoral Complaints Commission, to five years in prison each.

The second trial of these commissioners was held yesterday but was delayed until today because of lack of time.

During the previous court session, the suspects` lawyer described the allegations as "political" and "one-sided."

Original Link:

Open Original News

More from Tolo News

Latest News: